There are three things that are absolutely essential to every Christian message.

Jesus, Jesus,and Jesus!

And I’m completely serious!

Discipleship is first and foremost a relationship between man and his Maker Jesus Christ.

Ultimately,we don’t just teach rules and morals to make disciples.

Rather, we introduce people to Jesus Christ who alone is able to make disciples by His indwelling Spirit.

Only Christ can renew and transform from the inside.

“The Spirit gives life; the flesh counts for nothing. The words I have spoken to you—they are full of the Spirit and life.”

(John 6:63)

We will not be successful in making disciples of Jesus Christ if we ignore Christ!

And that is why I recommend all Christians adopt this one simple rule.

We should use this rule to evaluate all Christian writings, teachings, and sermons.

As we read or listen, we should ask ourselves any of these questions;

Is Christ given the preeminence due Him? 

Is Christ the central theme of every message?

Is Christ revealed as the answer to every problem?

How long does the communicator go without giving honor to Christ who is the creator of everything and also the answer to everything?

 Any one of the above questions will work.

And a few words of caution:

A very intellectually stimulating sermon without Christ is worthless.

A very passionate sermon without Christ is worthless.

A very amusing, logical,and even truthful sermon without Christ is worthless.

So don’t be fooled. Christ-less Christianity is becoming  the norm in America.

But we can turn this around!

So please pray this prayer with me.

“Again, truly I tell you that if two of you on earth agree about anything they ask for, it will be done for them by my Father in heaven.”

( Matthew 18:19)

Dear God.

Thank you for Jesus Christ who loved me and died for me.

Thank you that He rose from death to defeat it.

Thank you for the new life you freely gave me after believing and accepting Jesus Christ as my Savior.

Help me love Jesus more and more every day until I love Him more than I love

anything else in this world. I want to love Jesus with all that is in me!

Then help me never settle for anything less than all of Jesus!

In Jesus name,…Amen